免费电话 0800 MILFORD (645367)

Cruise from only $95 Book your Cruise Now!
Watch our YouTube video

米尔福德湾历史

米尔福德湾有个很丰富多彩的历史,它曾是毛利人1000多年的资源地。著名的英国海军指挥官,库克船长有两次都错过了米尔福德湾的路口,所以第一个“发现”米尔福德湾的欧洲人归功于威尔士冒险家约翰.格伦诺( John Grono)。尽管现代交通运输方式有包含着很便利的陆运,海运和空运,米尔福德湾还保留着它的原始美丽,这里还吸引着丰富的野生动物,它们包括海豚,海狗,企鹅和很多种鸟类。

追逐菲奥德兰的野生驼鹿

Legend of Fiordland Moose

当70年代时报导一头驼鹿被射中的时候,关于菲奥德兰驼鹿的故事就因此而流传了。捕寻这些神出鬼没的生灵的传统也延续至今了。

米尔福德湾在科学和大众艺术中的地位

自19世纪以来,米尔福德湾在科学和大众艺术中占据重要地位。从《百科全书》到现代的政治讽刺剧,这一地区的自然风光经常出现在最令人吃惊的地方。

乘船在米尔福德湾历史中畅游

如今,每年有成千上万的人来米尔福德湾探索。在21世纪之前,峡湾国家公园只能由专业的探险家和特权阶层乘船前往。乘船游览米尔福德湾已经有了相当大的改变,现在还有了一日游。

19世纪米尔福德湾的著名画家

多年以来,作为一个自然风光秀丽的地区,米尔福德湾吸引了很多画家的注意。19世纪期间,很多艺术家爱上了这里,并创作出了很多优秀作品。

米尔福德湾历史上的摄影师

如今,每天都有许多摄影师在米尔福德湾摄影。虽然这些摄影作品都很美,但是回到19世纪末20世纪初让我们欣赏以下这一地区最纯朴的风格。

唐纳德·萨瑟兰 – 米尔福德湾探险家

在每年成千上万的游客涌到米尔福德湾数年前,唐纳德·萨瑟兰就是这一地区的最初探险家。作为隐士在这一地区居住了几十年之后,他最后结婚了,而且带着他的妻子回到了那里。

米尔福德湾的野生动植物

很多游客是因为米尔福德湾举世闻名的野生动植物而来的,但他们仍为其种类的多样性而吃惊。从最小的岩石到它们周围水花四溅的深渊,米尔福德湾为大家提供了大量的景致。

米尔福德湾的欧洲史

如今,米尔福德湾是新西兰最受游客欢迎的景点之一。但是在发现新大陆时期,该海湾的欧洲历史被发现得较晚。约翰·格罗诺的一次偶然登陆发现了米尔福德湾,如今我们才能领略到这一地区令人惊叹的美景。

米尔福德湾与毛利人历史

如今,如大家所知,米尔福德湾经常被认为是一次地理大发现;实际上,毛利居民已经在那里居住了几个世纪。由于这里有丰富的水和植物,米尔福德湾成为当地毛利人生命的源泉和欢乐的目的地。

米尔福德湾是如何形成的?

米尔福德湾过去有着丰富的地质地貌;它令人赞叹的景观由一系列地壳变动、冰河时代和一些神话传说构成。一系列地质事件将这里打造成今天这个样子,然而大自然还没有完成对它的打造。

FREEPHONE 0800 MILFORD (645367)

Cruise from only $80 Book your Cruise Now!
Watch our YouTube video

Milford Sound History

Milford Sound has a rich and varied history and has been a resource for Maori for around 1000 years. The famous English naval commander, Captain Cook passed the entrance to Milford Sound twice and so the European “discovery” of Milford Sound is credited to Welsh adventurer John Grono. Despite modern access by road, sea and air, Milford Sound retains it’s natural beauty and still attracts an abundance of wildlife including dolphins, fur seals, penguins and many different sea birds.

Wild Moose chasing in Fiordland

Legend of Fiordland Moose

Stories about the moose of Fiordland have been circulating ever since it was reported that a moose was shot in the 1970s. The hunt for these elusive creatures has continued ever since.

Milford Sound in Science and Popular Art

New Zealand. Tourism Department; Bridgman, George Frederick Thomas

Milford Sound has featured in science and popular art since the 19th century. From encyclopedias to modern day political satire, this area of natural beauty crops up in the most surprising of places.

Milford Sound Boat Trips Through History

SS Stella in Milford Sound 1883

Today, thousands of people explore Milford Sound every year. Prior to the 21st century, this part of the Fiordland National Park was available by boat to professional explorers and a privileged set. Boat trips through Milford Sound have changed considerably, with day trips now available.

Famous Painters at Milford Sound in the 19th Century

Milford Sound Painting by John Barr Clark Hoyte

As an area of natural beauty, Milford Sound has captured attention of many painters over the years. Many of these artists found their love for the area during the 19th century, allowing them to create truly stunning images.

Photographers at Milford Sound in History

Burton Brothers photographing Mitre Peak in Milford Sound 1887

Today, dozens of people take photographs of Milford Sound on a daily basis. While they’re certainly beautiful, it takes a step back to the late 19th and early 20th centuries to appreciate the area in its most rustic form.

Donald Sutherland, Milford Sound Explorer

Donald Sutherland at Milford Sound in 1888

In the years before thousands of visitors flocked to Milford Sound on an annual basis, Donald Sutherland was the area’s original explorer. After living in the area as a virtual recluse for decades, he eventually married and took his wife back there.

Milford Sound Wildlife

Milford Sound Wildlife

While many head to Milford Sound for its world-famous wildlife, all are still struck by just how diverse it is. From the smallest rocks to the depths of the waters splashing around them, Milford Sound offers an abundance of natural beauty.

Milford Sound’s European History

Milford Sound’s European History

Milford Sound is one of New Zealand’s most popular tourist destinations today but its European history began quite late into the continent’s period of discovery. Following a chance landing by John Grono, Milford Sound was discovered as the area of marveling beauty we enjoy today.

Milford Sound and Maori History

Milford Sound and Maori History

While Milford Sound as it is known today is often thought of as a European discovery, it has been inhabited by Maori settlers for centuries. Owing to its fruitful waters and plants, Milford Sound became a life source and destination of joy to local Maori.

How Was Milford Sound Formed?

Milford Sound Geology

With a rich geological past, Milford Sound’s stunning landscape comes from a blend of tectonic activity, an ice age, and a little mythology. Convenient series of geological events have created the area as it stands today, and nature isn’t done with its formation yet.